KWASU’s MLCN welcomes 46 newly trained lab scientists

Posted by

The Nigerian Medical Laboratory Council has admitted 46 freshly qualified medical laboratory scientists from Kwara State University, Malete.

The total number of medical laboratory scientists produced by the state university now stands at 521.

The Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria, MLSCN, Dr. Tosan Erhabor, presided over the oath-taking ceremony on Wednesday.

The registrar of the council, who was represented by the Director, Regulation and Discipline, Mrs. Olufunmilayo Onakalu, addressed the inductees and congratulated the management of Kwara State University for its dedication to having its graduates inducted into the council.

Dr. Erhabor encouraged management to continue to support the medical laboratory science program in the institution, despite the fact that manpower, equipment, and infrastructure investment were required to continue to grow the program in the university.

He stated that the council would continue to extend hands of fellowship to ensure that aspiring medical laboratory scientists acquire training equivalent to that obtained in other climes.

“On our part, MLSCN would continue to extend the hand of fellowship to you and other like-minded training institutions, particularly those willing to follow council policies on student admission quotas, indexing, and professional examinations.”

“We will continue to work with such institutions to ensure that the young ones receive the highest standard of training comparable to what is available to their players in other global institutions.”

Professor Shaykh-Luqman Jimoh, Acting Vice-Chancellor and Chairman of the Oath-Taking Ceremony, expressed joy as the ceremony marked the sixth time the institution would convene to induct medical laboratory science graduates produced by Kwara State University.

“I extend my heartfelt congratulations to the 46 graduates, 13 males and 33 females, who have earned the recognition of the Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria through dedication and perseverance.”

“Your achievements today mark not only your personal success but also contribute to the ongoing legacy of our institution and I urge you to continue building your capacity by updating your knowledge through professional programmes to cope with the evolving challenges and the practice of medical laboratory science,” he went on to say.

The special acknowledgment given to the two students who graduated with First Class honours, Rodiat Remilekun Abdulkareem and Adeola Roqeebat Emiola, and the administration of the oath by the council’s delegate were highlights of the program.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *